News & Media

We help celebrate NHS stars


MPs and NHS leaders have joined forces to honour health and care staff who have helped to improve treatment for patients in the regional rounds of the NHS Parliamentary Awards.

Winners include a consultant radiologist who is recognised for 40 years of service and a dental team who are reaching out to vulnerable people. We’re supporting the Excellence in Primary Care award, which sees local GP teams and GP Community Pharmacist Consultation service among those honoured.

The coronavirus pandemic, the greatest public health challenge in the NHS history, has helped prompt a record number of nominations from MPs across the country who have sought to shine a light on the dedication of nurses, midwives, GPs, physios, pharmacists, healthcare assistants, porters, cleaners, and countless other staff who have contributed to the unprecedented response.

England’s Chief Midwife and chair of the national judging panel this year, Professor Jaqueline Dunkley Bent, said: “A huge congratulations to all those who have been recognised for their outstanding contribution to the NHS as well as making a genuine difference to the patients they care for.

“NHS staff and volunteers make the health service what it is today – the largest and greatest care team in the world.

“This year more than ever, the nation owes a debt of gratitude to the 1.3 million-strong army of nurses, midwives, doctors, physios, pharmacists, healthcare and maternity care assistants porters, cleaners, and countless other staff who ensured no patient who could benefit from NHS care was unable to receive it.

“It will be a tough task selecting our overall winners – I look forward to hearing more about their fantastic achievements and celebrating with them all at the national award ceremony.”

Our CEO, Jonathan Murphy, said: “In a year like no other for primary care, it’s inspiring to see these nominations ranging from individual GP practice teams to primary care alliances, CCGs and community pharmacy – all stories of innovation and commitment to the experiences patients have, and their access to health services.”

The full list of regional winners can be found here: